Home   Calendar   Clubs   Forms   Links   Hui Wa‘a  

  Na ‘Ohana O Na Hui Wa‘a

E Komo Mai

Hui Wa‘a is organized exclusively for the following purposes:

  1. To maintain and perpetuate Hawaiian culture through the promotion of Hawaiian water sports;
  2. To teach, train, instruct, and expose children, men and women in the ancient art, craft and history of Hawaiian canoeing;
  3. To provide means and facilities for activities tending to foster the development and maintenance of strong and healthy minds, bodies and spirits among all people;
  4. To provide opportunities for the interaction and communion of people in the interest of mental and social well-being.

President: Tambry Young  
Vice-President: Ka‘ili Moikeha  
Treasurer: Pua Ajifu  
Secretary: Kathleen Kelleher  
Race Chair: Desmond “Desi” Ishii  
Asst Race Chair: Steve Silva  
Chief Recorder: Charray “Noe” Fox  
Director: Chris Whitesides  
Director: “Missy” Morton  
Director: George Waikoloa  

Nā ‘Ohana O Nā Hui Wa‘a
P. O. Box 2279
Honolulu, HI 96804




2018 Long Distance Race Schedule

Date Day Event Course
8/18 Sat Duke Kahanamoku: women/Lanikai CC  Kailua Beach - Waikīkī
8/19 Sun Duke Kahanamoku: men/Lanikai CC  Kailua Beach - Waikīkī
8/25 Sat Kailua Bay Challenge: men/Kailua CC  CANCELED
8/26 Sun Dad Center Race: women/Outrigger CC  CANCELED
8/30 - 9/3 Thu/Sun Queen Lili‘uokalani Races/Kai Opua CC  Kailua-Kona, Hawai‘i Island
9/9 Sun E Lau Hoe: women/OHCRA  Maunalua Bay - Nanakuli
9/16 Sun Henry Ayau Memorial: men/Hui Lanakila  Maunalua Bay - Nanakuli
9/23 Sun Na Wahine O Ke Kai: women  Moloka‘i - O‘ahu
10/7 Sun Moloka‘i Hoe: men/OHCRA  Moloka‘i - O‘ahu

Long distance races range in length from the 18 mile Queen Lili‘uokalani Races to the 41.6 mile Ka‘iwi Channel crossings. Most races involve water changes, in which up to 3 paddlers at a time are rotated in and out of the canoe while the rest of the crew continues paddling. Water changes add a level of complexity to distance racing, making it important that each crew is able to perform fast and efficient changes for the duration of the race.

The Ka‘iwi Channel races from Moloka‘i to O‘ahu, Na Wahine O Ke Kai for women and Moloka‘i Hoe for men, involve paddling in open ocean conditions, for which the Hawaiian outrigger canoe was designed. These races allow our canoes and crews to perform at their limits. Canoes are rigged with spray covers (“canvas”) and must have escort boats to carry extra crew members, coaches and helpers.


2018 Hui Wa‘a Pre-season Distance Schedule

Date Day Event Place
3/24   Sat    Windward Kai Ke‘ehi Lagoon
3/31   Sat    Hui Wa‘a Ke‘ehi Lagoon
4/7   Sat    Hui Wa‘a Magic Island
4/14   Sat   CANCELLED
4/21   Sat    Hui Wa‘a Maunalua Bay
4/28   Sat    Ka Mō‘i Pokai Bay
5/5   Sat    Kumūlokahi Maunalua Bay
5/12   Sat    Kai Poha Hale‘iwa
5/19   Sat    Manu O Ke Kai Hale‘iwa
5/26   Sat    Lāhui O Ko‘olauloa   Kahana Bay

Hui Wa‘a distance races are between about 6 and 12 miles in length and average from about an hour to an hour and a half to complete. These races are all “iron,” that is, there are no water changes required.

As well as kicking off the season, these races serve as fundraisers for the clubs sponsoring them. All Hui Wa‘a member clubs are required to enter at least as many crews as there are races in the current season. For example, if there are nine pre-season distance races in a season, then each club must enter at least nine crews over the course of the season. A club’s obligation could be met by racing nine crews in a single event or by entering one crew in each event of the season.


2018 Hui Wa‘a Regatta Schedule Results

Date Day Event Place
6/2 Sat Manu O Ke Kai Hale‘iwa
6/9 Sat Kaneohe Ke‘ehi
6/16 Sat Windward Kai Kailua
6/23 Sat ‘Ālapa Hoe Ke‘ehi
6/30 Sat Lōkahi Ke‘ehi 
7/7 Sat Nā Keiki O Ka Mō‘i   Ma‘ili Beach 
7/14 Sat Waikiki Beach Boys Waikīkī 
7/21 Sat Hui Wa‘a Championship Ke‘ehi 
8/4 Sat HCRA State Championship   Ke‘ehi 

All Hui Wa‘a regattas for 2018 will be run on Saturdays.

Keep in mind that parking and traffic may be difficult at many regatta sites. Ke‘ehi Lagoon generally has ample parking, but other locations can be very congested. Be sure to allow yourself enough time for travel and to find parking.

We have a responsibility to keep our race venues clean and in good repair. When you are setting up and taking down your tents, please make sure you do not drive on the grass, especially at Ke‘ehi Lagoon. Remember that dogs are generally not allowed on our beaches. During and after each regatta please ensure that your area is clean.

Lane drawing for regattas is scheduled for the Tuesday prior to each regatta. Club reps draw lanes for the events they plan to enter. Competitive divisions are based on the number of events a club enters:
  • “A” for 6 to 12 events,
  • “AA” for 13 to 24 events and
  • “AAA” for 25 or more events.

Trophies are awarded to the top three clubs in each division. In the event of a tie, a coin toss will determine which club receives the trophy.


  Hui Wa‘a Member Clubs

alapa hoe haleiwa imua kai poha kalihi kai kamahao ka mamalahoe kamehameha kaneohe koolauloa kumulokahi-elks lokahi manu ka moi olelo pukana beach boys windward kai yacht club

  Docs & Forms



Updated November 27 2018
©    by Nā ‘Ohana O Nā Hui Wa‘a.